The next Need For Speed ​​will be unveiled this week

Electronic Arts’ next Need For Speed ​​game will be revealed this coming Thursday, October 6th. The official Need For Speed ​​Twitter account shared the news that the reveal trailer will land at 8am PT / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST.

Here is the tweet, which contains a logo and a little music:

It’s not long, but we do know that this will be the first Need For Speed ​​game developed by Criterion since Need For Speed: Most Wanted in 2012. There have also been persistent rumors and leaks regarding the game. very retarded. Earlier this year, reports suggested the game would combine a “photo-realistic” art style with “anime elements”. A leaked three-second video showed a crashing car with doodles and textured effects appearing superimposed above the world.

This Need For Speed ​​was originally slated for release last year, but was delayed while Criterion helped EA Dice complete work on Battlefield 2042 during the Covid-19 pandemic. The racing game is now apparently set to release before the end of 2022.

Although Criterion is known for some of the best games in the series, more recent Need For Speed ​​games have had a rockier reception. The previously released game, 2019’s Need For Speed: Heat, was considered an improvement over the recent past, but still not a complete return to form.

EA, meanwhile, increased its share of the racing game genre by buying Codemasters last year.

About Debra D. Johnson

Check Also

New book traces the paper trail of Montana’s history

Collector and historian Thomas Minckler has spent half a century collecting 19th and early 20th …